What do you get when you cross a duck with a Peony, (and a bit of Simplicity 2444)?

Answer:  Something like this.

P1200567

When I got this fabric on ebay about a year ago I had a plan. Those are little brown flying ducks on a red background and it is the softest brushed cotton. I decided I would make a Peony.  Now I love the idea of Colette’s Peony. I love the ones I’ve seen other people make – for example here, here, here and here .  I even had a go myself, in navy but I wasn’t happy with the result.  Since then no amount of tweaking has produced anything like a decent fit.  For now I have accepted that for me it’s not going to work.

I know that the bodice of Simplicity 2444 does fit me, with some minor adjustments.  The neckline is a bit gapey, but I thought I had just about nailed it.  However with this fabric I didn’t want big pouffy gathered skirt.  I wanted something a bit more, well Peony-like.  So here it is – top of 2444 with the skirt of Peony.  I did a Frankenpattern!

P1200543P1200552P1200558It’s not perfect (Yes,  I am aware that this is becoming something of a mantra).  I rushed it and the hem is not quite even.  You can see above, and here:

P1200562- but how often am I going to be walking around like this?

More annoying is the neckline.  Still a bit too much gape, which makes the sleeve look funny in the pics as well:

P1200550I would like to try to fix it because I love this fabric.  I wish the close up pictures had come out better, but they really didn’t show it clearly so I will have to try again in a different light. I can sort the hem out easily and I’m thinking maybe a couple of darts at the back and front neckline? Although that would involve unpicking the facings.  I will have to wait (forever) until I am in a patient mood.

5 thoughts on “What do you get when you cross a duck with a Peony, (and a bit of Simplicity 2444)?

  1. sewbusylizzy

    How amazing! I did the exact same thing when I made my Peony – however my rayon was not playing nice and the darts were off and it went into the bin! I think Peony was sent to test us all!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: Duck! My Hawthorn crop top refashion – perfect for relaxing on the M25. | The Amazing Adventures of Taracat

Leave a Reply

