Disparate Disciplines Daisy Dandelion Dress – the start of a D based love affair?

P1220085

You know when you find a fabric and you can immediately see the dress it is supposed to be? Maybe it’s just me, but I got that feeling as soon as I picked up this mystery cotton-ish, slightly  stretchy remnant in my local fabric shop. It was about £6.00 for a metre and a half length and probably about the same width. I knew it had to be kind of shift-ish dress, but with a twist. I had a picture in my head of what I wanted but never quite managed to find the right pattern. It almost became a Laurel but something stopped me at the last second so it has been sitting in my stash for about a year.  Then a couple of weeks ago Mari of Disparate Disciplines released the Dandelion dress pattern and it was like she’d read my mind. As soon as I saw the drawings I knew that it would be perfect and ordered it straight away.  Unfortunately I didn’t have time to make it straight away so had to be content with lusting over the gorgeous versions popping up on the interweb – check out Winnie’s lace sleeved dress , Lizzie and  Wanett’s tops, and Brooke’s Star Trek inspired version , for example.

As you can see it can be made up as a top or an A line dress, with either a round or sweetheart neckline, or sleeveless with a yoke. This gives you the possibility of endless variations – colour blocking, lace inserts, using different textures, piping, the only restraint is your imagination. And as an added bonus you also get a recipe for dandelion pesto – mmmm…

I kept it simple and made up the dress with the round neckline. No pattern matching because I didn’t think I’d have enough fabric, but it does use less than you’d think. This pattern  is recommended for intermediate sewers because of the curved lines and the unconventional construction. It is different to anything I’ve made before but the instructions were very clear and I actually found it one of the easiest things I’ve made. It is hard to see how it will turn out until it’s done though, because of the genius side panels that add gorgeous curves while keeping it loose enough to be comfortable even after a large lunch – and I did make sure I tested that factor several times. And the raglan sleeves meant no fannying around trying to avoid the puckers I always get when setting in normal sleeves.

I made it up with a size 2 at the shoulders, grading to a 4 at the bust and a 6 at the waist and hips and the only alteration I made was to take in about an inch at the centre back, as I do for virtually every pattern.  And I managed without a zip again. The only cock up was when I was finishing the seams with my overlocker and managed to take a chunk out of the side panel. Luckily not a big chunk, and thanks to the print you can hardly see it:

IMG_2709

While I was taking these pictures my husband came in to tell me he had lost the top of his finger in the shed. He cut it while slicing a tomato the other day and rather than going to A & E decided to try and stick it back with strips of plasters. It didn’t work and now his fingertip is kicking around the floor of the shed somewhere.  This is my ‘trying to look concerned without laughing and shouting I told you so’ face:

P1220150Anyway….

There is still a little bit of extra fabric at the back, I’m wondering if I should try a sway back adjustment next time?

P1220080Of course movement is important, so I had to try some moves. This music seemed appropriate.

P1220114

P1220111

P1220119 And especially for Amy from Almond Rock, who commented on my last Anna dress post that she wished I really had been doing the Teen Wolf Dance:

PicMonkey CollageSo to conclude, I love it! I have already cut out another in a solid so the design lines are easier to see. This was my first Disparate Disciplines pattern and I am very impressed by the design, instructions, free recipe, well everything really. And if you head on over to their site they are also offering a free camisole pattern at the moment, made up beautifully here by Clare from Sew Dixie Lou. All they ask is for you to donate however much you want to a charity that tackles hunger. I’m off to order it now…

32 thoughts on “Disparate Disciplines Daisy Dandelion Dress – the start of a D based love affair?

  1. KimP

    Damn. Now I have to buy this pattern too, after seeing you dance in your awesome interpretation – you are costing me a fortune, Taracat!!! And Brooke’s Star Trek version is beyond genius. Y’all are killing me with your creativity!

    Reply
  2. nettie

    You look amazing!!! I love the print you chose!!

    It’s so weird that you took a chunk out of your side panel. I did the exact same thing!! I was lucky that the print hid it well, too.

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Thanks! And I did see that in your post! Maybe if I’d remembered I would have been more careful. How funny that we both did it – maybe it’s the curves? And it’s the first time I’ve done anything like that as well. I’m making it in a solid next so I’ll have to be extra careful because it would definitely show.

      Reply
  3. Brooke

    It looks great on you! Love the print you used!

    Looks like you could just pinch and measure that extra fabric on the back and remove it from the pattern for your next one. It will probably be an “eye” shaped fold. Safety-pins will help so you can measure after taking it off. But overall, it’s a wonderful fit for a first one – I wouldn’t bother to fix it until the second version. =)

    Reply
  4. Michelle

    OMG. The teen wolf photos win my vote for best photoshoot on a blog! I LOVE it. Your dress is really beautiful. The dandelion dress was a fantastic way to feature that print!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Sewing for Autumn – a knit Dandelion. | The Amazing Adventures of Taracat

  6. Pingback: Frock-vember | sixty six stitches

  7. Pingback: Desert Island Sewing: The Amazing Taracat

Leave a Reply

