Stashbusting Officially.

Two posts I read recently caught my eye.  Firstly there was Cations’ Stashbusting Sewalong.  I am a longtime lurker on her blog, but this challenge was so close to my own intentions that I had to sign up.

And then I read this piece over at Male Pattern Boldness, on Jumping the shark.  I obviously lead a sheltered life because this is not a phrase with which I am familiar, but what he described, basically making resolutions with no hope of keeping them – well it’s me.  Self Stitched September – Fail.  Me Made May – Fail.  Sew Colette – Fail.  Sew Weekly – well I managed twenty challenges, but it’s still not sewing weekly, is it. And as for the pledges not to add to my stash, well this is how that one worked out:

IMG_0507

I have no idea why I got most of this.  The blue and yellow florals are gifts from a friend who was sorting her own stash.  There is about five metres of the black and white stuff – something vintage and full skirted maybe?  The lace print knit could do another Tiramisu, or maybe I should be trying another pattern from my collection.  The bird print silk was a gift – I am terrified of silk but I need to overcome that. And the stripey pink stuff was from my grandmother’s stash – it has little silver threads in and looks much better in real life.

Then there is this lot –

IMG_0508

Snake effect PVC anyone? There are a couple of duvet covers here, some Minnie Mouse shiney spotty stuff (no idea what I had in mind,) and the emerald green shiny really is from the sixties. I would love to use it for Gertie’s bombshell dress but there is only about a metre and a half.  This is only a fraction of what I have been hoarding.

And as for patterns, you would have though that this lot would be enough to choose from without needing to buy more?

IMG_0514

IMG_0518

IMG_0513

IMG_0517

Again, there are more where these came from.

I have carefully considered all of this and what the Hell, I am still going to give it a go. I am convinced that part of my failure was due to my lack of experience.  I am self taught from the interweb and have been doing this for less than two years.  Did I really think I would spend the whole of May rotating the same three wearable dresses and tops? And was I seriously going to be able to sew a garment a week, hold down a full time job and raise a young family? Taking all of this into account I have made the following pledge:

‘I, Taracat,commit to using at least 12 pieces of stash fabric in 2013. I also commit to not buying any new fabric or patterns until I have used at least six pieces of fabric and four new patterns from my stash.’

I am counting my two Tiramisus, after all I made them this year, and I have a couple of other things on the go.  And this will be the year that I finally get round to making that bombshell dress.  Actually this is starting to look almost do-able.

(Touch Wood)

One thought on “Stashbusting Officially.

Leave a Reply

