Stashbusting for the ones I love, and I win again!

Sewing definitely brings out my selfish side.  I have made a couple of things for other people. Actually I first started sewing with the idea of making gorgeous clothes for my daughters, but somewhere along the line I must have thought – Hang on. Why am I spending all this time on them when I could be making gorgeous things for myself.  My girls didn’t really appreciate my early efforts (and to be fair, they were crap) so I made myself a dress instead. And so it all began…

However, Cindy and Emily have officially designated February’s Stashbusting the month of making things for the ones you love. I do love my family immeasurably. I don’t like sewing for them.  I also don’t like sewing home decor stuff. Unfortunately a considerable part of my stash consists of home decor fabrics bought with the intention of sewing for my family.

It was with gritted teeth that I sewed these blinds for my youngest.

IMG_0720

They’re blinds. That is all I can find to say.  Okay, I’ll try.  I have had the fabric for ages. My youngest chose it, there are cute little boats, beach huts and light houses. we live by the sea so it seemed apt. They have blackout lining and it would have been so much easier if I had enough fabric for curtains, but I didn’t. I started doing roman blinds then remembered that horrific story about a toddler who got caught in the strings, with tragic results. So I ditched that idea and tried stick on velcro.  Which didn’t stick. Eventually I had to improvise with ribbon ties on the sides. I really need an extra row down the middle, and it is a bit of a faff to tie them up but it’ll do until she is older, when I will make them into proper blinds.

IMG_0716

Excuse the rubbish i-phone photos, I was in a rush to get these done, photographed and move on to something interesting.  However despite all my moaning it was worth it to see my daughter’s face when she saw them – I wish I had a picture, she was so excited. It did make me go all mushy. Which is kind of the point, I suppose.

Anyway, over to someone a lot less selfish than me. Look what I got in Kerry’s giveaway!

IMG_0717

I received my giveaway prize from the lovely Kerry at Kestrel Finds and Makes yesterday and have it draped over my wardrobe door so I can look at it. How gorgeous is this fabric?!  Thank you so much! Now I need to find a worthy pattern and gee myself up to cutting into it. I have a few ideas but I want to be absolutely certain that I won’t bugger it up. So no pressure then…

4 thoughts on “Stashbusting for the ones I love, and I win again!

  1. Katy

    I think they look lovely, well done for putting yourself aside and sewing for others! I’m not sure I’m able to do that yet, and I certainly have no idea how to put blinds together, big congrats! Your daughter has good taste 🙂

    Reply
  2. babygreens

    Lovely blinds! I should own up to the 4 pairs of curtains hanging unhemmed upstairs…. It’s just not as interesting as clothes and looks worse if I get it wrong… Looking forward to seeing what you choose to make with that lovely fabric 🙂

    Reply
  3. The Amazing Taracat Post author

    Cheers Katy. And glad I’m not the only one, Babygreens 🙂 Curtains and blinds just seem to suck all the joy out of sewing, don’t they. Oh, and I have a couple of ideas for the fabric, just need to decide on one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

