Finished- my Marguerite Mathilde.

IMG_0785It took a lot longer than expected. Not because I had any problems, just because work etc. got a bit manic last week. Anyway, here it is. You may recognise the fabric – it is the stuff I won in Marguerite Designs giveaway.  As soon as I received it I was itching to make it into another Mathilde, and it has turned out just as lovely as I’d hoped. So thanks again Diane!

Please excuse the dodgy i-phone photos, (and the small clingy person who can’t understand why anyone would want to take photos without her in them, especially as she was so good getting her jabs earlier.)

IMG_0786IMG_0787As before this was a dream to sew. I made a couple of changes this time round. I lowered the neckline by about half an inch and added a couple of inches to the length. I should have graded it to allow for my big hips but with buttons it’s not a major issue, I just undo the bottom one. I moved the top button higher up to try and eliminate the problem I had with the top corner folding over and looking like the two sides were uneven. This meant that I needed eight buttons rather than the seven recommended in the pattern, although as it happens I could have left off the bottom one as I ended up unbuttoning it due to my aforementioned immense arse.

IMG_0792

 

Orange buttons again!  These are the ones I was originally going to use on my first Mathilde, but they weren’t quite the right colour.  They are a perfect match for this fabric – see, everything happens for a reason.IMG_0789

IMG_0790

And to finish here are couple of pictures of me and my Mathilde enjoying a lunchtime pint in one of my locals, the Duke of Cumberland. Just to prove that I do actually wear the stuff I make.IMG_0804

IMG_0803

14 thoughts on “Finished- my Marguerite Mathilde.

  1. babygreens

    That’s beautiful. I love the beautifully matched buttons and the brave soldier small girl. Mine is the same, I have many photos featuring an unexpected child or cat.

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Thank you, and don’t get me started on the cats. Their favourite game at the moment is to climb my dress form while it’s in use, pesky creatures. It’s a good job I love them…

      Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Cheers! I know it’s not that big really 🙂 I’m happy with my shape. The only issue I have really with my backside is that most clothes shops don’t cater for those of us with more womanly curves. Their loss, because it means that now I make things instead of buying them.

      Reply
  2. Katy

    I’m a bit slow on the uptake, but I LOVE this version of the blouse. It looks gorgeous on you 🙂 And although I don’t know what you’re talking about ‘immense arse’ but I do understand the frustration of being more curvaceous than the shops expect, although I think it makes us sexy! 🙂

    Reply
  3. Pingback: And first I’d like to thank… | The Amazing Adventures of Taracat

  4. Pingback: Bad back, a new(ish) hobby and Me Made May ’14 week one. | The Amazing Adventures of Taracat

Leave a Reply

