A tale of immense will power and panic buying.

7

A couple of weeks ago an old school friend came to stay.  I wore my first Mathilde blouse and got loads of compliments and at some point after the first (several) bottles of wine I agreed to help her make one for herself.  We set a date for tomorrow evening and I said that I would provide the fabric and pattern.

This morning I went to my stash and amazingly could not find anything suitable! Okay, I do have quite a few suitable fabrics but nothing that is a) to her taste, b) not earmarked for another project or c) non – slippery.

There was nothing for it. I would have to shop, and hope that I had enough will power to avoid adding to my own extensive stash.

Yeah, right.

I am lucky enough to have this shop almost at the end of my road. I couldn’t get a better photo because the man in the doorway was starting to look scared. And yes, it really was that grey out today.

4 (2) It’s a lifesaver if I run out of anything but not good if I want to browse, because I am physically incapable of leaving there without buying something.  And the staff are so lovely it would be wrong to disappoint them…

I arrived a few minutes before it opened so I spent the time window shopping.  How gorgeous are these dresses in the whiting post?

5 (2)6 (2)

The ones inside are even better.  Before I started sewing I would have had to treat myself, but these days I find it hard to justify buying something that I can make for a third of the price. They do have sales though…

I love this shop – Pearl and Hemingway.

3 (2)They do gorgeous vintage and vintage inspired clothes and accessories, What Katie Did lingerie and swimwear, fabulous hats, and what did I see when I was peeking in the window this morning?  Yes, they have started stocking fabric too!

0 (2)Luckily it wasn’t open yet.

So did I manage to stick to my no fabric purchasing resolution?

Yes and no.

8

The floral cotton polyester blend is for my friends Mathilde – she didn’t want me to spend a fortune on her first attempt at garment sewing.

The baby blue polka dot cotton poplin is mine, all mine (sinister laugh…)  But my resolution remains unbroken. I said I would refrain from fabric buying until I had used six pieces from my stash.  So let’s count:
Two tiramisus, polka dot and floral – that’s two.
Macaron – another two, the black cotton and the tattoo print.
My first Mathilde – another stash buster.
I can’t really really count my second Mathilde, as that was new fabric, albeit won rather than bought.  However on my sewing table (okay, small desk in the corner of the kitchen) is an almost completed Elisalex – I couldn’t wait for the sewalong.   After making my muslin I was already so in love with this pattern that I just had to steam ahead and finish it.  I have also cut out my Sewing for Victory dress.  So that is two more I have used form the stash, which means I can officially fall off the wagon.  Yeay!

And I now have all the essential supplies for tomorrow’s session ready to go.

9

17 thoughts on “A tale of immense will power and panic buying.

    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Thank you. Drink and Sew Thursdays is a fabulous idea – I may have to adopt that one myself. I’m also partial to a drop of gin as well as vodka. In fact one of my dreams is to have my own gin distillery. I’m sure there is a market for Seamstress Gin 🙂

      Reply
      1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

        Ooh, let me think – my favourite gin drink? You can’t beat a classic gin and tonic. Or with bitter lemon for a change. And I must admit I’m partial to a Long Island Iced Tea. Then there’s Apple Martinis, or a Gin Sour…I could go on and on…

  1. Gjeometry

    Oh my goodness, everything you photographed is so charming and lovely!! I want to live where you live 🙂 And, I love your fabric choices, I’m actually doing something similar with a blue that shade for a dress and a blue floral for the belt.

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Hi! Believe it or not my town, Whitstable, was actually ranked 16th best place to live in the UK in a Times list a couple of days ago, so I’m not the only one who thinks it’s great. Pop in if you’re ever in the area. And your dress sounds lovely, I’ll look out for it.

      Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Cheers Lynne. I reckon it shouldn’t be too difficult for you to knock one up similar. I’m sure one of the Butterick Retro patterns is similar. I’ll let you know if I remember which one.

      Reply
  2. prttynpnk

    Gorgeous pics- I got a little contact high off the shopping pictures! I want a Mathilde and a Elisalex so much! I sound like a little kid coveting other girls Barbies!?

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Thanks Anne! I know how you feel – every time I see someone else’s wonderful creation I’m like – I want one. Now. I really think you should make a Mathilde and an Elisalex though- they are so easy it would take you no time, and both would totally suit you.

      Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Hi! It went really well, although we didn’t quite finish as we ended up meeting the men down the pub just before closing time. She is cracking on with it though, so maybe I’ll have some pics to post soon. And I think I have converted her 🙂

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Let the Sewathon begin! First up – Elisalex No. 2 | The Amazing Adventures of Taracat

Leave a Reply

