Let the Sewathon begin! First up – Elisalex No. 2

I don’t know why I do it to myself.  I am going away on Sunday. That is in three days time.  This time yesterday I had four dresses to complete – the Elisalex  from By Hand London that I want to wear to the wedding I am going to on Wednesday, two Cambie’s to take with me and my Sewing For Victory Dress.  I don’t know if I will do it but here is my first finished dress, my second Elisalex. Remember my impulse buy of baby blue polka dot poplin?

P1200809

I went for the original skirt this time and I’m really glad I did. I LOVE this dress! Looking at the photos I can see that I haven’t quite cracked the fit yet. No idea what is causing the under-boob creases, but I’m hoping it is mostly due to not wearing the bra I wore when I was trying it on during the make. That would mean it is easily fixed.  Anyway I don’t think they show as badly in real life.

P1200777

There are a lot of firsts here for me.  Mainly the hand sewing. I don’t know why I avoided it for so long. It was actually quite relaxing to do in front of a couple of episodes of Law and Order.  As well as the lining I hemmed the bottom and sleeves by hand and did my first ever hand picked zipper.  Not perfect, but I’m happy with it.  I underlined the whole thing with a cotton sheet to make sure it didn’t flop as the fabric was a bit drapey. It was also my first time using ric rac. I had it lying around so I thought why not? I think it turned out quite well.   And of course I had to add pockets, as outlined in this Sewalong post.

IMG_0884

There is not a lot to say about the construction that hasn’t already been said. It came together really easily. I made a couple of adjustments after my last effort, mainly to take it in another inch at the back and at the front neckline.  Looking at the photos there are a few more tweaks I will make next time. I could have made more effort to match the polka dots at the back, and I can now see some puckers on the princess seams at the front, but I’m still happy with what I have come up with.  I did worry that all the extra pouffiness on my hips would make me look huge but i think it actually has the opposite effect, making my waist shrink.  It is really comfy and the sleeves hide my lunch lady arms (note to self- ten minutes a night with the weights really does make a difference, so just get on with it.)  Anyway, some more pics-

P1200785Taking photos must be taken very seriously…

P1200793 Not!

P1200792Of course I need to make sure I can dance in it.  I’m usually more of a ‘prop the bar up and watch’ kind of girl, but as it’s a wedding  I may be drunk enough to make the effort.

P1200807The back view. No idea where I got that bruise?  Legs like a brickie – classy.

P1200803Did I tread in something?

Right. Three more dresses in three days.  Bring on the Cambie production line…

22 thoughts on “Let the Sewathon begin! First up – Elisalex No. 2

  1. Cuckoo Chanel

    Beautiful Elisalex!!! What a perfect fabric for it. I’m planning an Elisalexathon tonight myself. Thanks for the motivation. Good luck with all of your sewing plans, and have a great trip, wedding, etc!!

    Reply
  2. Helen

    This looks great, Tara, and well done in finishing it so quickly! I live the rick rack detail – nice touch! And I don’t think you need to worry about your hips, the skirt shape is so exaggerated that no one would ever think they were your actual hips, and yes it makes your waist look small in comparison!

    Hope you get the other items finished in time!

    Reply
  3. Kat H

    Very cute! Love the ric rac details – I’m rather inspired to try that after seeing how great it looks on your dress… 🙂

    Good luck with the rest of your sewing deadlines!

    Reply
  4. Katy

    It looks so lovely on you! And you completely right, your waist looks tiny! Fingers crossed you get the other dresses done in time. I have lots of deadlines too…

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Hi! I actually thought of you when I was making this – how good would it look in leopard print! I may even have enough left from my Jungle January skirt. Or tiger? or zebra? This pattern is crying out for someone to junglify it.

      Reply
  5. gingermakes

    Cute! I love this on you! The tulip skirt is really flattering and fun. Happy sewing! Hope you’re able to work without hassle or hangup and get everything done!

    Reply
  6. Pingback: I won an award! | Sleek Silhouette

  7. Pingback: And first I’d like to thank… | The Amazing Adventures of Taracat

Leave a Reply

