Looking for horses and pre-meet up nerves.

Check out this dress:

IMG_1368

How gorgeous is that? Peter pan collar, tucks, and best of all – horses! It made me think a bit of Gertie and her love of My Little Ponies.

IMG_1370

IMG_1369

Unfortunately it isn’t mine.  My daughter got it for her birthday.  It is from Tesco’s, of all places. I actually went as far as looking in there to see if I could squeeze into one of the larger sizes before coming to my senses. Yes, back in my hard core kick boxing days (I wasn’t much good, but I was very toned) I was small enough to fit into larger children’s clothes, but those days are long gone. And anyway, isn’t there something slightly creepy about wearing the same clothes as you eight year old daughter?

However it has made me realise that I need horse print fabric. And I mean NEED.  I’m thinking horses and Miz Mozelle, or maybe the new Deere and Doe Reglisse or their Belladone, both of which have just dropped through my letter box after Ginger Makes convinced me that I needed them – check out her gorgeous lace Belladone. Now I know I could use Spoonflower to make my own fabric. I actually found some likely candidates already on there

http://Horses a Galloping - Salmon and Blue http://Wind Horses in Blue

 

 

 

 

 

but I am trying to sew on a budget (and stash bust, but I’m on track with that so I think I can allow myself this purchase). Spoonflower prices plus shipping are a bit more than I can justify at the moment. So this is one of the things that I will be hunting for on the Sewing Meet Up and Goldhawk Road pilgrimage on Saturday.

Anyone else going by the way?  It will be my first and I am so excited, but also a bit nervous. I mean, I feel like I know lots of the people going, but only through the interweb, and interweb is not real life. I am an introvert, or maybe it is just my natural British stand-offishness but I always feel when I interact with someone online that there is a fine line between friendly banter and coming across like a crazy stalker, which probably does make me hold back a little.  And obviously I will be wearing something that I have made. Not a problem in real life, people don’t tend to notice all the little errors and bodge jobs or they are too polite to say – but real life sewists? They are the experts, so they will easily be able to spot all my fudging. You can choose not to show all the dodgy bits on your blog, but in real life it’s a different matter.

Oh well – No Fear No Shame.  I’m going, and I’m going to have a bloody great time. My excitement is definitely stronger than my nerves and I can’t wait to meet all of you. I’ll be the one with the wonky top stitching, loose threads and the weird nervous grin if anyone wants to talk to me.

29 thoughts on “Looking for horses and pre-meet up nerves.

  1. Almond Rock

    I’m going!! It’ll be fun. Though its much larger than any meet up I’ve been to before. I have been on the hunt for horses too. I seem to only find horsws on quilting cotton. Or horse shoe chiffon. I saw a maxi dress I thought of chopping up but it was £20 and still might not have been enough fabric. So instead I bought a horse stamp and some fabric paint to play with

    Reply
  2. catherinedaze

    I’m going too and despite being a massive introvert I’ve always found I enjoy sewing blogger meetups a lot. Having a ready made topic of conversation really helps I reckon. See you there!

    Reply
  3. margueritedesigns

    I’m sure you’ll have a great time! I’m so jealous that I can’t go – bet you will definitely find some ‘horse’ print on Goldhawk Road and everyone will be enjoying themselves that much that they won’t notice anything about what anyone’s wearing!

    Reply
  4. Katy

    That dress is so cute! I would totally have tried to squeeze myself into a kids size, but would never have succeeded, I can’t believe you used to be able to do that! I am also going on the meet up at the weekend, and am also a little scared… I know exactly what you mean about being worried that everyone will see the mistakes! Eek, luckily I still don’t really know what I’m doing, so you don’t have to worry about that from me! You have so many gorgeous dresses I’m sure you’ll look amazing. My latest dress has gone rather well, so I’m hoping I can wear that and it will survive the scrutiny!

    Reply
  5. punkmik

    yay! we can hunt for horse fabric together! love that dress! ” I’ll be the one with the wonky top stitching, loose threads and the weird nervous grin if anyone wants to talk to me.” that was going to be me! lol! cant wait to meet you! Thank you for your recent kind words! just a bit behind with blogging! 🙂

    Reply
  6. gingermakes

    Oh, wow, a dress with horses on it sounds SO CUTE! I hope you find some fun fabric! Have a good time at the meetup– I’m always a little nervous beforehand, but end up having a great time. It’s just so fun to be able to shop and chat with people that are interested in the same things as you (cause my IRL friends and hubs could care less about French seams and cotton voile, heeheehee). Thanks for the shout-out, too! Can’t wait to see your Belladone & Reglisse dresses!

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Thanks, I’m feeling so much better knowing that I’m not the only one who gets nervous, but as you said, it will be really fun to hang out with people who are interested in the same things as me. Actually now I can’t wait!

      Reply
  7. sewmuchchoice

    Hi, I’m going on Saturday too and am very nervous along with excited, other than my boyfriend’s mother (she is lovely but we have very different tastes) I have never met other people that make their own clothes. I love the idea of a horse dress, hopefully you’ll be able to find some horse fabric. look forward to meeting you on Saturday.

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Same here, no one I know in real life makes clothes. My Grandmother is an obsessive patchworker, but it’s not the same. I also have a friend who is interested in learning but she lives miles away. Really looking forward to meeting you on Saturday.

      Reply
  8. sewbusylizzy

    It’s my very first meet-up too. I’m a little nervous because I’m an extrovert AND an Aussie and I’m terrified I’m going to freak out the reserved British types LOL. I also think a out the scrutiny that my clothes might undergo, worse still I didn’t bring many choices due to packing restrictions etc. oh well you will be able to pick me the noisy shoddily dressed one.
    I suspect there will be all sorts of personalities there. We need a bit of yin AND yang. See you soon!

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      I can’t believe this is your first meet-up! Don’t worry, we Brits are not easily freaked out, we generally take most things in our stride. I’m sure you’ve heard about the great British eccentrics (you’d understand if you met my mother 🙂 ). And I agree, we need yin and yang. Really looking forward to it now and can’t wait to meet you and everyone else – see you Saturday!

      Reply
  9. Gjeometry

    That dress is cute! I think you deserve some fabulous horsey print fabric! Have a fantastic time at your meetup. We had one round these parts a few months ago and it was fantastic! I’m pretty sure nobody is going to think you are a crazy stalker, lol. 🙂

    Reply
  10. babygreens

    It sounds like you will have an excellent time! I’d be a bit nervous too though. Love the pony print frock, and agree completely that there’s something not quite right about wearing the same clothes as a daughter.

    Reply
  11. Helen

    Yes, that dress is lovely and the horse print fabrics are gorgeous too.

    I’ve never been to a blogger meet up and would definitely feel how you’ve described if I did. But from what I’ve read about them everyone is really friendly, no one will be judging your errors or bodge jobs (because they’ll be too busy stressing over their own), and you’ll have a blast.

    Easy to be the voice of reason from such a distance! 🙂

    Reply
  12. JacqC

    I love that fabric – I hope you find a suitable horse print in London. I’ve not been brave enough to go to a big meet up but I did visit an exhibition with one other blogger and it was wonderful, we had such a great day, I’m really glad I plucked up the courage! Hope you have a super time 🙂

    Reply
  13. Scruffybadger

    You’ll have a great time, I know! It’s always weird seeing people in real life and feeling like you know them so well already….and the luxury of being able to talk in detail about sewing inspirations, latest patterns and makes is mind blowing! Sorry I can’t be there, but have fun and go find horses!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

