Thank you……

I have a couple of things to say thank you for, and I should have done it sooner.  I’m sorry, May is probably my busiest time at work and I’ve been neglecting everything else.  Bad blogger.  Anyway, check this out:

IMG_1948How adorable is this?!  The picture really doesn’t do it justice.  It reads – Sewing fills my days. Not to mention the living room, bedroom and closets.  I think the message is something we can all relate to, (my husband just nodded his head sadly when I showed him),  and it has taken pride of place above my sewing table. It came courtesy of Cindy at Cation Designs and Emily at EmSewCrazy.  I have been taking part in their Stashbusting Sewalong.  Each month we get a theme to sew along to using items from out stash, and April’s was ‘vibrant colour‘.  Then at the end of the month we upload a picture of what we managed to make. Last month we also got to vote for our favourite.  I used fabric from my stash to make my Goldfish Laurel and I won!  They wrote a really lovely message on the back:

IMG_1949So sweet! And they also included this ribbon, below:IMG_1950Again the picture doesn’t come close to showing how lovely it is, or the vibrant colours. Expect to see it incorporated into one of my makes soon.   And do head over to their blogs, have a look and join in, it’s really got me motivated to tackle my seemingly ever growing stash.

I also need to thank Emmie at My Oh Sew Vintage Life, who has nominated me for a Liebster award. Her blog is fantastic and I am so happy and flattered to be nominated by her- someone out there reads my drivel!  Emmie is also an excellent shopping companion, we teamed up on the London Meet up to raid Goldhawk road, and she has made some gorgeous dresses – I love her Scottie Dog Elisalex.   She says it is just a tester!

I have nicked her explanation of what the Liebster Award is as she does it so well –  It is an award for blogger with less than 200 followers that enables them to get to know other bloggers, as well as promote their blog to get more followers.
To accept the award there are a few rules to follow:
Each blogger should answer the 11 questions the tagger has set for you.

  • Choose 11 new bloggers (with less than 200 followers) to pass the award on to and link them in your post.
  • Create 11 new questions for the chosen bloggers.
  • Comment on their page to tell them about the award.
  • Each blogger should post eleven random facts about themselves.
  • No Tag Backs!!!

As I received this award last month from Katy at Sleek Silhouette I am going to cheat a little bit and refer back to my post I did at the time, here, and the bloggers I nominated then. I know this is a bit lazy but pretty much all my favourite bloggers have either received this award recently or have way too many followers.

Emmie asked some fabulous questions, so here they are with my answers:

  • Whats your most favouritest thing you’ve ever made?   It changes all the time, but at the moment it is the dress that I have nearly finished, using fabric I got in the Brighton swap. All will be revealed soon.
  • Favourite chocolate?  Difficult one. Actually I’m more of a savory snacker. If you’d said favourite crisps I would really have struggled. Or favourite takeaway.  I used to have a bad Mint Aero habit and I love Green and Blacks dark spiced chilli chocolate. However I think my all time favourite would be Thornton’s Viennese Truffles.
  • What super-power would you possess? An amazing multi-faceted power that would enable me to cure cancer, bring about world peace and then when I’d done the important stuff I’d also have the ability to stop time until I had finished what I needed to do, then restart it. There are just not enough hours in the day.
  • What item of clothing is forever sitting at the bottom of your wash basket?  Socks. I never have enough socks. Not very glamorous, sorry.
  • Favourite Perfume?  I used to wear Armani Code until about a year ago, when I bought a bottle of Guerlain Aqua Allegoria Mandarine Basilic in the Duty Free by accident.  Now I wear it all the time and panic if I am running low.
  • If you won the Lottery, what would be the first thing you would do? Actually I won the lottery the other day. Ten pounds. I bought two pints of lager and a bag of bacon fries. If I won the biggie though ….Scream. Then head to the estate agents and get them to find me a big house on the beach with a guest wing, a couple of studies and a huge sewing room. I dream of having a sewing room.
  • Favourite Skirt Length? Either just below the knee or maxi, depending on my mood and whether I’ve shaved my legs.
  • Favourite shoes? I have a great pair of mustard coloured suede Mary Janes from Clarks, with quite a high heel (for me) in a wide fit so I can wear them all day. And a lovely pair of red patent heels with little bows that I got from Primark about five years ago and are still going strong.  And I loved the leopard print heels I wore the day I got married but I must have been too high to notice how tight they were because the next time I wore them I ended up walking home in agony in bare feet.  I think I am still searching for my perfect shoes. However good they make me look, if they’re not comfortable I won’t wear them.
  • What is your dream job? I still want to set up a gin distillery making my own brand of Seamstress Gin. I would also love to make a living writing crime fiction.  Pre-children I probably read a novel a day and wrote loads. Last year I completed NaNoWriMo and now have a completed first draft of a novel.  That’s the easy bit. It needs redrafting, probably about fifteen times before it will be ready to send out. Writing, more than anything else I have done is 1% inspiration, 99% perspiration.  I did get to the stage a few years ago where I was getting helpful comments and encouragement from publishers and agents rather than just straight rejection letters, for a previous novel that I wrote. Then I got promoted at work and realised I was going to have to spend a bit more time on the job that paid the bills rather than the one that was unlikely ever to, so it all got put on hold.  One day though….
  • What would be your dream day? I am going to sound awful for saying this, but it involves time to myself. Husband and children would all go off happily to do something away from the house. I know some people may raise their eyebrows at that but I get so little time to myself and sometimes I physically crave a few hours away from everyone.  I would have pancakes for breakfast, then spend the morning sewing or writing or even reading. Then lunch at Birdies,  followed more sewing or writing or reading. The family then comes home for a family dinner, after which I’ll put the girls in the bath, read them stories then put them to bed. I’ll have a long soak in the bath and get ready while my husband lets the babysitter in then we can both head out to a pub with decent live music and proper Mojitos.  Of course if I had longer than a day I would be heading off somewhere on a plane.

And finally eleven random facts about me:

  • I have excellent navigational skills and even managed to find my way around Texas without GPS.  However I can’t find the remote to the dvd player or the cup of tea that I put down two minutes ago.
  • I wear coloured contact lenses. I need them to see and coloured ones are easier to find when I drop them, but I am also vain.
  • I have size three feet.
  • I used to have a six pack.
  • I also used to do competitive (ish) kick-boxing, hence the six pack. After having two children I don’t think I will ever see my stomach muscles again, but I can still do a roundhouse after a couple of drinks.
  • My husband says that my most annoying habit is balancing knives on things in the kitchen
  • I am very good at clay pigeon shooting.
  • I have two pet tarantulas – a Mexican red knee called Juanita and and Chilean Rose called Dave.
  • In one of my former careers I spent quite a lot of time dissecting brains.
  • My husband and I got engaged six weeks after meeting. We then took ten years to get married, and didn’t tell anyone until after we’d done it.
8 thoughts on “Thank you……

  1. Emmie

    Love it! And that you so much for your kind words, I am filled with a warm glow 🙂 I love your random facts, I love knowing such cool things about each person that fills it in! Awesome

    Reply
  2. Katy

    Lots of congratulations in order 🙂 I’m not surprised you won the stashbusting with your goldfish dress, it was amazing!!!

    Reply
  3. Wendyp

    Congrats! I loved the goldfish dress! It was the reason I started following you.
    I totally get the me-time thing – I have a lot of me-time, and I wouldn’t want to miss it for the world!

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Thank you, and I’m so glad it made you want to follow me 🙂 You are so lucky getting a lot of me-time. I have actually dropped a day at work so I could get a couple of hours a week to myself. I think you reach the point when you realise that time is so much more valuable than money.

      Reply
  4. zora read

    Hi Jo, I love the goldfish dress, I am not surprised you won the stashbusting award. Your blog is so entertaining I am glad you have been nominated for the Liebster. I am looking forward to seeing what you have made with fabric from Brighton. I am in the process of using my giant ric rac and hope to post it some time this century.

    Reply
  5. The Amazing Taracat Post author

    Hi Zora! Thanks! I’ve actually used one of the pieces I got from you – the floral with the dark background that I almost didn’t choose. I’m so glad I did, I love what I’ve made with it, I’ll post it as soon as i get round to taking photos. Can’t wait to see what you’ve done with the giant ric rac.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

