Me Made May – So how did I do?

me made mayNot bad actually.  I won’t pretend I’m not relieved it’s over but I’m pretty proud of myself.  I have learnt a lot about what I actually wear and what I need, I made some items that are getting worn a lot already and in terms of wearing me made items I actually  managed to do better than I pledged to do.  My original pledge was as follows:

‘I, Jo, of The Amazing Adventures of Taracat, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’13. I endeavour to wear at least one self made garment each day for the duration of May 2013, but I am allowing myself one day a week off if I need it.’

I only had one day in May when I wasn’t wearing something that I’d made, or two if you don’t count the shop bought shirt that I’d dyed blue. I also managed to get a photograph every day I wore me made except one, when I cheated and used a picture of me in my Beach Hut Laurel that I took the previous month. Getting photos was a pain in the arse and cost me a fortune in bribes to my daughter but I’m glad I did it.

Rather than doing daily or weekly posts I set up a new page, here. So how does it break down?

What I wore:  IMG_1920

Spotty Tiramisu   x3
Stripey Laurel    x3
Blue Lekala skirt    x2
Nautical Cambie    x2
Blue maxi dress    x2
Dixie DIY summer concert tee   x2
Mathilde no 1   x2
Marguerite Mathilde   x2
Leopard pencil skirt    x2
Floral Tiramisu    x1
Lace print Tiramisu    x1
IMG_1765Dragons and Koi print dress   x1
Beach hut Laurel   x1
New floral dress   x1
Stripey cotton shirt   x1
Blue faces t shirt   x1
Deckchair Elisalex  x1
Burdastyle Jenny skirt x1
Rooibos  x1

IMG_1946Most worn patterns:

Tiramisu  x5
Mathilde x4
Laurel  x4

.

.

.

What I’ve learnt:

  • I already wear dresses to work most days but at weekends the weather in this country does not want to cooperate most of the time. I need to make tops, skirts and (dare I say it?) trousers that will work when running around with kids, messing about on the beach, etc…
  • I also need more me made knit maxi dresses for the rare occasions when the sun does shine. When they fit properly and provide enough coverage they are the most practical garment for my lifestyle when I am not at work and it is sunny.
  • I need better bras. This is one of the revelations of taking crappy photos every day. when you take picture for a blog post you take loads and pick the ones that show you and the clothes the best. Yes, I know it’s supposed to be about the garments, but I’m sure I’m not the only person that tries to avoid posting the really hideously unflattering pictures of myself, even if they are the ones where the dress looks nicest.  It has been difficult to admit to myself but these hastily grabbed shots this month are probably a truer snapshot of what I look like in real life. And my norks need help. Shop bought bras just don’t seem up to the job, and trust me I have tried everything from high street to high end, with a variety of fittings.  I am therefore going to try my hand at making a bra. Not necessarily straight away, I think I may need to work up to it. Shall we say before Christmas?
  • I still need to work on fitting, and I am much pickier than I used to be. I can now see all the faults in garments that I was really proud of when I made them. However I think a lot of them can be rescued, and when I was wearing garments that I made only a year ago my main thought was how far I’ve come since then.  I’m getting definitely getting there.

I am actually amazed that I didn’t find it more difficult, even though I did end up sewing myself a couple of things out of desperation for something new – my as yet unblogged Dixie DIY summer concert tee and my stripey Laurel top.  I have found out a lot about what I wear, what I need and what I really don’t need.  I have also found myself automatically looking at my me made things first when I am picking out what to wear in the mornings. That’s got to be a good thing, hasn’t it.  Anyway, a big thank you is due to Zoe.  This month has been one of the most valuable sewing related experiences ever.

6 thoughts on “Me Made May – So how did I do?

    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Cheers! Doing the photos was the hardest part, wasn’t it. I did actually cheat on one day but mostly I bribed my daughter. as you can tell by the quality her heart wasn’t really in it though.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

