Rooibos Rescue

sewing and ursulas heels 031I made this  Colette Rooibos when I started sewing, along with my other one here:IMG_1824

I was sewing along with the Sew Weekly challenges. They weren’t quite the first dresses I’d made, but they were pretty amateurish. On the blue one I completely cocked up the piping at the neckline (my first attempt at piping) and ended up chopping it off along with the collar and bodging a join at the front.  And there are a lot of other faults. I hadn’t yet figured out that you are given grainline markings for a reason. Pressing seemed like an unnecessary interruption to the fun stuff, and I didn’t see the need for extra steps like adding interfacing.  I do like looking back at these early efforts to see how far I’ve come.
Despite the errors I do like these dresses.  Rooibos is a fantastic pattern and I keep meaning to make it again.  I thought I would wear the blue and white one the most but I found that while I wear the grey one at least once a fortnight in the winter I have only worn the blue one a couple times. I think the fabric and colours are just that little bit less forgiving than the other one, because the faults seem much more obvious.  However I put a lot of effort into it and didn’t want to bin it and it was way too badly made to pass on to a charity shop, so it remained scrunched up in a bag in the bottom of my wardrobe for the last year.

P1210499
MMM13 me realise that I need more separates, particularly skirts, ideally with pockets. It also motivated me to go through my me mades and look at the ones that I don’t wear, to try and decide which could be rescued and which were beyond help. I decided to cut off the bodice of my blue rooibos and try it as a skirt. Originally I intended to keep the curved waistband but it soon became clear that it wasn’t going to work.  The wonky grainlines and lack of interfacing, meant that in the end I decided it would make more sense just to fold it inside as a facing then top stitch to keep it in place. I swapped the long zip for a short one, and voila, a new skirt!

P1210510P1210521No dancing I’m afraid, I had approximately 30 seconds to do these photos before I had to be out of the house. You do get a big cheesey grin though.  And weird under boob gathering on my cardi. No idea what’s going on there.

I have already worn this skirt twice, once to work and I’m wearing it again today for the school run and general pottering.  That is as many times as I wore it as a dress in two years, so I think it’s a keeper.

On a different note – anyone else going to Claire and Marie’s  Birmingham Meet Up tomorrow? I am so excited!  What’s on your shopping list? I am on a mission for swimsuit fabric and elastic, pants elastic, something totally frivolous for sundresses and some buttons and bias binding for a couple of projects I have in mind.  I will probably forget what I am there for and come back with loads more lovely random stuff, but even if I don’t get anything it’s worth the journey to hang out with everyone and chat.
Hopefully see you all there!

7 thoughts on “Rooibos Rescue

  1. margueritedesigns

    Love your skirt. I am having a major re-vamp of most of my Sew Weekly efforts this year – some are to be remade and others embellished etc, etc.! Anyway, it was fun at the time and like you, I’m a lot more critical now … I expect more of myself!

    Reply
  2. babygreens

    Clever converting! I love the grey one too. There are so many patterns that I want to try after seeing them on your blog.
    I can’t make the Bimingham meet but am watching out for more 🙂 I hope you have an excellent time.

    Reply
  3. elise

    Great job! I have been thinking of doing the same with a dress I made a few years ago. I’ve always thought it should be a summer skirt. Seeing yours has given me the courage to take my seam ripper to it!

    Reply
  4. Kim

    Very smart idea! I like the skirt a lot 🙂 I need to make more seperates too, so I’m going to start with some Grainline patterns soon! I’ll make am exception for the Deer and Doe dresses I just got in the mail though..

    Reply
  5. Cris

    And what a beautiful refashion you did! I’m thinking of doing a Rooibos now I’ve seen it can be solved if it doesn’t turn out well the first time…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

