I got a Space!

fabric stash 001

Emmie has been asking people over on her blog to show off their stash and their sewing spaces, but up until now I didn’t see much point. Above is what my stash looked like two months after I started sewing. I would need a wide angle lens to get it all in one picture now.

As for sewing space, well I have made no secret of my yearning for a room of my own, or at least a dedicated space to sew.  Actually my kitchen table is perfect for my needs. However I have been mostly relegated to a small wobbly desk in the corner of the kitchen because the other members of my family are under the misguided impression that this table is for homework, painting, play dough and of course eating.  Which is very inconvenient because they are messy eaters. There is nothing more annoying than cutting something out and starting to sew only to find that whoever was supposed to wipe the table missed a large glob of ketchup that is now well and truly ironed into your fabric. Annoyed? Oh yes….

It was this incident that prompted me to call our local builder to get a quote for a loft extension. Which in turn finally got the message through to my darling husband.  So last weekend he asked me for a list of what I needed to get my stuff organised and headed off to Ikea.  At this point I would just like to say that I am not some feeble little woman who needs permission to buy storage units, and I am more than capable of getting them myself but the idea of doing it with children in tow is my idea of Hell and Ikea only deliver at times when I am at work, so I have been putting it off.

While he was out I roped in some help to clear out the corner that I have been using.

IMG_2069

Child labour? Moi….?

I am lucky that Mr Taracat is a carpenter. Those flat packs are not as simple to put together as you would expect. There was swearing.

IMG_2070

He got me the Micke Workstation,  which is the perfect size for the space and just big enough for my sewing machine and overlocker.  It has a cupboard for my patterns, a big drawer where I store my work in progress and shelves and another little drawer for thread, notions, scissors, etc…  He also got me a load of Kassett boxes to keep fabric and haberdashery in.

IMG_2106

It still looks a bit messy here as I was so keen to try it all out that I forgot to take photos before I started using it. He also got me a proper swivel chair which has given my girls hours of amusement spinning round on it at high speed until they are really dizzy and then trying to walk. And yes, I did join in.

IMG_2108

The notice board at the back is magnetic, so perfect for pinning up instructions as well as other lovely sewing related stuff.  And the ledge on the top is wide enough and sturdy enough for me to balance all the boxes on. I am ashamed to say that they are all full of fabric, notions and patterns.

So there you have it – my new sewing space.  I need to say a really big thank you to my wonderful husband for making it happen.  He is currently at Glastonbury, where he will be ‘working’ for the next week, so I will hopefully get to make the most of the time on my own and get some serious stitching done.

27 thoughts on “I got a Space!

  1. carlalissa

    I just cant stop laughing with this post! Very funny. I am so happy for you that you finally got your on little corner! Just need one more box to make it even at the top even if its empty LOL!

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Thank you! I know, my daughter nabbed one of the boxes to put her own fabric in – I am teaching her to sew too. I think that for symmetry I will have to insist that she keeps in with mine though.

      Reply
  2. Emmie

    Wow! Wonderful husband! And it is the perfect sewing desk, I’ve never even seen it in all my Ikea trips. I love that you gave him loft extension fear… mwah ha ha. Loved seeing it!

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Hi! It’s not the only reason I acquired a husband, I was hoping for some tax breaks too but they haven’t materialised yet. He does do housework as well as carpentry, so I think I got a pretty good deal.

      Reply
  3. Gjeometry

    Wonderful sewing space! Yay Mr. taracat for being a carpenter and building you stuff. And, I am putting in a request as next in line for your ‘maid’. 🙂 She’s doing such a great job, I could use her over here.

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Any time you want to borrow her you’re welcome. Postage probably wouldn’t be that much either as she’s only little. I may want to borrow Kitty to do my next prize draw in exchange though.

      Reply
  4. Shar

    This looks perfect! My husband made a sewing desk for me using a door as the top and shelving as supports and it’s made all the difference. Enjoy your new space!

    Reply
  5. Kat H

    Love the new sewing space! (I’m guessing you don’t get earthquakes where you live though, am I right?!!) Makes such a difference having a dedicated space – hope you get to enjoy it lots while Mr Taracat is away “working”! 🙂

    Reply
  6. Kelly

    Oh that’s a lovely little space! I’m so jealous! I have just had to claim the dining table (it doesn’t get eaten at any more!) and half the living room with it. In the process of saving so I can buy a house, not least so I can have a sewing room!

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Thank you! I still have to use the kitchen table for cutting, but it does make a difference just having somewhere to keep all my stuff together. And needing a sewing room is the best reason ever to save for a house 🙂

      Reply
  7. Katy

    Ooh lucky you, it looks fab! I can’t wait to get a proper space to sew, my husband is so fed up with the mess he’s agreed I can have a dedicated (box) room in the house we buy, yay! I love the cabinet you chose, I’ll have to hunt it out. Now you have no excuse to sew sew sew 😉

    Reply
  8. elise

    Fabulous! I am dreaming of a space one day too. I bought a storage bench for the foot of our bed a while back, planning to fill it with my fabric stash, only my husband claimed it for his sweaters….!

    Reply
  9. Pingback: My sewing space and fabric stash | Good purl gone bad

  10. goodpurlgonebad

    Great reading, and you actually inspired me to take some pictures of my den and post them on my blog.
    I love your sewing space, the layout looks really functional and I love that you can chat to your family whilst sewing and that you are presumably nice and close to the fridge. And what a wise husband you have, who recognises an opportunity to Do Something Right Now and then Does It.

    Reply
  11. Wendyp

    Allright! Your own sewing space! It doesn’t get any better, doesn’t it! Supernice of your husband to go to IKEA for you (I hate going to IKEA, although I’m probably the only one I know who doesn’t like IKEA) and then put the desk together! It looks really great!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

