Hawthorn and Hutstock – a perfect summer’s dress for a perfect summer’s day.

IMG_2180Yes, that is Mr T. and I grinning like a loons after too much cider in the sun while our children went feral yesterday at Hutstock,  Whitstable’s Premier beach hut based music festival.  One of the many reasons why I love living here. But ignore the freakish expressions for a second and check out the dress. You may recognise the fabric. I got it at the Birmingham swap, donated by Stitching Odyssey Marie and I promised her I would put it to good use.

P1210716

When Colette released the Hawthorn pattern it was love at first sight. I downloaded it immediately and decided to make up the peplum blouse using Marie’s bathing ladies fabric.  However when I pinned out the pattern pieces I realised that if I took an inch either side off the width of the skirt I actually had enough fabric for the sleeveless dress. The instructions say you need about 2 3/4 yards of fabric but I think the piece I had was about two metres.  I cut a size zero at the shoulders, grading out to a four at the bust and a ten at the waist and hips.

This was a surprisingly quick and simple make.  The dress came together so easily it was unreal. I was a bit wary of the collar and all those button holes but there were no issues at all. This version without the sleeves would definitely be accessible to a beginner, and if I had an unbroken stretch of time I could knock one together in three or four hours. As it was it took me a week of evenings. I did intend to follow along with the Sewalong but I got impatient to finish.  The fit is pretty good too. I did take it in a bit more at the side seams for a closer fit, but apart from that I made no adjustments. I like how it is a slightly looser fit but still follows the shape of your body, making it perfect for warm summer days when you don’t want to wear something that feels too fitted but still want to look like you have made a bit of an effort.  And I think Colette may be paying attention because for the first time with one of their patterns I didn’t lower the bust dart and it still hits in exactly the right place.

The dress isn’t really shown at it’s best in the rest of my Hutstock photos  (and nor am I 🙂 ) so I took some extra pics this morning.  P1210693P1210685P1210679P1210709

Oh go on then, a quick dance…..P1210696As you can see I am a bit tired after yesterday’s festivities.

I also tried it with my big fluffy petticoat thing underneath, for a bit of a fifties vibe.

P1210668

P1210643I quite like how it looks and I think maybe I should have worn it like this for Hutstock – the extra layers of petticoat might have provided a bit more padding, I woke up with incredibly bruised buttocks from sitting on the stones.

P1210662Of course youngest child wasn’t about to be left out…

Not much more to say except how much I absolutely fecking love this dress.  It really is perfect for summer.  And other people thought so too. I have never had so many complete strangers coming up to me and complimenting me on my dress or asking where I got it. And not just at the festival, where people had, lets just say less inhibitions.  I was even approached in the supermarket and when walking down the high street.  It is a definite win and I have more planned.
So finally, for those of you not lucky enough to know Whitstable, a couple more shots of what you missed…

IMG_2175IMG_2177IMG_2174

IMG_2173

62 thoughts on “Hawthorn and Hutstock – a perfect summer’s dress for a perfect summer’s day.

  1. Shar

    Ohhhhh – this is fabulous!!! The fabric is great and I love how you have the ladies swimming towards each other in the bodice. I just cut my Hawthorn out last night. I hope it comes out as beautifully as yours! Near my hometown we have a music festival called (oddly enough) Musikfest that runs the first two weeks of August. I think I know what I’m wearing there!

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Thank you! It was a pure fluke that the print came out like that, I had just enough fabric so I had to forget consciously matching the pattern. I can’t wait to see yours! It is the perfect dress for festivals.

      Reply
  2. unlabelled clothes

    That’s just a perfect dress – I love that fabric. Isn’t it lovely when strangers come up to you to compliment on a dress you’ve made. The weather in England at the moment is just gorgeous.

    Reply
  3. Handmade Jane

    Absolutely gorgeous! It turned out really well and you look ace, I’m not surprised you received all those compliments! I thought the collar on the pattern looked a bit small and lost but it looks perfect on your version. Hhmm, you’re seriously tempting me now! x

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Thank you so much! I know what you mean about the collar on the pattern pictures, but actually I think it is just right. I would love to see what you would do with this pattern, I absolutely loved your blue rose shirt dress.

      Reply
  4. Diane Hudson

    I think that’s my favourite of all your ‘indie’ makes so far. Pattern and fabric are made for each other … maybe you’ve got the start of a business there!

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Thanks! It’s funny, a couple of people said I should make them to sell but I think I’m a bit to selfish with my time to make stuff for other people, even if they were paying me. And I’d probably want to keep them all for myself.

      Reply
  5. crowbird

    You have done a splendid job, well done! Not surprised you had such nice comments you look amazing! Looks like Hutstock is a great place to be. We have had a great festival here in Hereford over the weekend – Beer on the Wye. When the weather is like this who would want to be anywhere else? I finished my muslin this afternoon in between Murraying and sunning. I’m planning on the peplum,but having seen your dress wish I was doing that version now – just the excuse for trying another! I consider myself a novice so I hope mine turns out as lovely as yours.

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Thank you! I’m sure yours will be gorgeous, can’t wait to see it. I think my friends sister was at that festival in Hereford this weekend. It was perfect weather for it wasn’t it.

      Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Thanks! I know, I am always stalking google images when a new pattern like this comes out to see what other people have made. There are some great versions of this one already.

      Reply
  6. thecuriouskiwi

    Every Colette pattern I’ve made (and by “every” I mean two, haha) I’ve had a whole meter of fabric left over! At least a meter of left overs is something I can work with – but, back to your dress. LOVE it with the petticoat, very fifties and fun, the swimmers are cute, I didn’t realise it wasn’t just a zig zag pattern at first, I love how they line up, nice one 🙂

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Thank you! I’m amazed that I had enough fabric. As you said, I probably used a metre less than they said it needed. I was just lucky with the pattern lining up as I had to cram the pieces on but I love how it came out.

      Reply
  7. Katy

    It”s lovely! I’ve just downloaded this pattern to give it a go, I’m hoping that it turns out as well. A lovely dress for a lovely day 🙂

    Reply
  8. Marie

    Oh Jo! Seeing this make has made me so happy…my fabric I donated to the swap went to the best home ever! Love the dress on you, what a great shape and perfect for summer! The pattern and fabric seem to be made for each other!

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Cheers, I’m so glad you like it! And thank you again! I really wanted a pattern that would do the fabric justice cos I love it so much. It’s great seeing what people make with fabric you donate at swaps isn’t it. I know how excited I was when I saw what Janene at Ooobop and Rachel House of Pinheiro made with the stuff I donated at the London meet up.

      Reply
  9. Wendyp

    Summer is the best time of the year, mostly because of all the festivals and festivities that seem to be going on everywhere! The pattern is wonderful (no doubt there, it is a Colette after all) and the fabric is just so much fun! I’m sure you’ll get a lot of wear out of that one!

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Thank you! I am definitely getting plenty of wear from it – it went straight in the wash after Hutstock and I am wearing it again today – not bad considering I only finished it on Saturday morning.

      Reply
  10. Helen

    Wow! This is beautiful! I love the fabric – gorgeous. I wasn’t overly taken with this pattern when it came out, but I do love your version. It’s perfect!

    Reply
  11. Roisin Muldoon

    That’s gorgeous! I wasn’t sure about the pattern when it was released but I think this may well have sold me on it. And I majorly ❤ Whitstable, and Kent in general. Hopefully I'll get down for some seaside fun before the summer is out!

    Reply
  12. Gjeometry

    Oooh, how exciting this is the first Hawthorn I’ve seen sewn up!! It’s gorgeous on you! And, I am now officially in love with your fabric and MUST have some. Now. Fab!

    Reply
  13. rachelinred

    ooh, the fabric with the swimming ladies! I love that you made it into this dress. It’s super cute!

    Reply
  14. Lynne

    Ooo!! What a fabby dress! I’m excited about seeing this because it’s the first Hawthorn I’ve seen on the blogs, and this pattern is No 2 in my sewing queue. It’s interesting to read your comments on this re the fabric requirements, I always think Colette Patterns are very generous on this (although I suppose that’s not a bad thing!). Also your comment on the height of the bust darts – hope this works for me too, because it’s a pain the bum having to lower darts.

    I love the fabric (again!), and your dress looks great with the petticoat underneath.

    Reply
  15. sewexhausted

    I see I am not the first to say the fabric is awesome! But I had to say it anyway… Love the swimming ladies! And I have not seen the Hawthorne but love it. And adding the petticoat underneath- Makes it complete… LOVE the dress on you! ~Laurie

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Hi Laurie! Thanks! I’m not sure how often I’ll wear it with the petticoat, I would probably get a few funny looks at work but I can probably get away with it at the weekend.

      Reply
  16. Pingback: If you know Rosie, please say Thank You from me…. | The Amazing Adventures of Taracat

  17. Jo

    I just clicked over from Marie’s post about her Hawthorn – both amazing! Agree with everyone that the print and the pattern were made for each other, and it clearly suits you so well! I’m not really keen on the pattern myself but it’s so great to see you wearing it like this!

    Reply
  18. Pingback: Desert Island Sewing: The Amazing Taracat

  19. Pingback: ... and the sea cucumber turns to the mollusk and says, "With fronds like these, who needs anemones?" | Almond Rock

Leave a Reply

