If you know Rosie, please say Thank You from me….

IMG_2168A couple of weeks ago as I was parking my car a girl came running over.  She explained that she had locked her keys in her car. As it was the same make and model as mine would I mind trying my key to see if it worked?  She said she knew it was a long shot but she was getting desperate, she had been waiting over an hour for the AA (emergency car people, not Alcoholics Anonymous) and it was a really hot day.

Her car was parked just up the road from my house. Unfortunately my keys didn’t work so I invited her in for a drink and a snack and a chance to cool down.  I obviously don’t look too much like a serial killer and she wasn’t completely put off by my delinquent children because she took me up on the offer. Once inside she spotted my sewing desk and dress form, which was wearing my nearly finished Hawthorn. She complimented me on the dress and  told me that she was on a work placement in Whitstable as part of the fashion design course she was studying for in Rochester. We chatted for a while and I felt a bit mean chucking her out when I had to drop my oldest at her music lesson but when I got back  back ten minutes later I saw that the AA man had arrived and was looking at her car. When he left I went to check that everything was okay and she could get home.  He had managed to get her into her car so she thanked me and headed home.

Fast forward to that Friday. I arrive home after a particularly stressful school sports day. Do Not Ask.  To a cardboard box on my doorstep with this note attached:

IMG_2167 I carried it inside and couldn’t resist opening it straight away.  It was stuffed full, so at this point I bribed the kids with snacks and TV so I could have a proper uninterrupted rummage.   Anyway the patterns below are just a small sample of what was inside:
IMG_2203 Some nice basics. I could see myself making all of these, especially the Parka.

IMG_2202Loads of really cute kids patterns that my girls are already nagging me to make for them.

IMG_2195IMG_2183I got really excited by these. There are some amazing traced or self drafted patterns, the ones above are just a few of them.  I am dying to know who Penny is and what she looked like in her pink boiler suit.  You can’t help feeling a connection to whoever made these up. And I remember that green and white computer paper with the holes down the side from when I was a kid.

IMG_2206Some more fab patterns here. I really like the long shirt, and the little girl’s coat, and that skirt.  And I can totally see how the empire line wedding dress could be updated. Please ignore the cigarette that has somehow rolled into the picture. I have no idea how it got there.

IMG_2205And check out this fabulous blouse. I particularly like it in white, with what looks like a sheer top section.

The above are just a small selection of the patterns.  I was pretty gobsmacked when I saw them, I can’t quite believe that anyone could be so generous. So I would like to say a really big (and belated, sorry) Thank You to Rosie.  I hope your car gives you no more trouble and that Karma will be shining on you for this kind deed and bring you all sorts of good things.  You are an absolute star and you totally made my day  🙂

47 thoughts on “If you know Rosie, please say Thank You from me….

  1. Sabs

    You lucky girl! It’s so nice that generosity like that, and the kindness that precipitated it, still exists. I’m sure you’ll have loads of fun with these!

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Cheers, I am waiting for a quiet time when I can really sort through them properly. Her generosity really did knock me sideways. I like to think that most people would have helped her out, it would take someone pretty heartless to ignore her.

      Reply
  2. rodolil

    What a fabulous story! Amazingly heartwarming to see such a generous, thoughtful response to your kindness. Hope you have a fab time with this treasure box!

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      I know, it was the thought that went into it that really amazed me. I mean, what sewist doesn’t want a big box of patterns waiting for them on their doorstep when they get home?

      Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Thank you, I think with all the depressing news we get we all need reminding that the majority of people are intrinsically nice. I hope Rosie gets lots of good karma from her good deed.

      Reply
  3. Lynne

    Wow! That was so kind of her, but then you were kind to her too! I love the wedding dress pattern, and the blouses in the last photo, and I remember my Granny making my sister and I dressing gowns very like the one in the bottom right of the childrens pattern photo. I bet you bump into Rosie again in the next few days. It’s stories like this that restore my faith in the human race!

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      I know, I’m itching to make that blouse. I like to think that, on an individual level at least, people are generally good and kind, despite the impression we might get from the media sometimes.

      Reply
  4. grtescp

    what a wonderful surprise, and well deserved, most people just ignore people in distress these days, so being invited into someone’s house for a cool drink and place to wait really is a big deal!

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      I think it would have been hard for anyone to ignore this poor girl. And I definitely came out of it best – all she got from me was a glass of water and a hob nob bar (I did offer juice or squash too), and in return I get lovely patterns. She is such a sweetheart.

      Reply
  5. Houseofpinheiro

    How sweet. She studies at UCA. It’s the only design uni I know over here. Kindness it’s contagious. Great story… We so used to hear bad stuff it’s so nice to hear the good too.

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Thanks Rachel, I wonder if I could get a note to her there. I think you’re right, kindness is contagious. Well worth remembering. And maybe we’ll be seeing her stuff on the catwalks in the future? With an attitude like that she is bound to be successful. I really hope so anyway 🙂

      Reply
    1. Helen

      Stupid iPhone, try again! Sewing people really are the kindest, loveliest people, aren’t they?! How generous!

      And yes, I remember that paper too. My dad worked in what we’d now call IT, so this was the only paper we ever had for drawing! Blast from the past!

      Reply
      1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

        It’s one of the things that has amazed me since I got into sewing, just how kind and generous people are. A wonderful antidote to all the negativity out there. And all my drawings as a child were on that paper too, my dad used to bring it back from work!

  6. Shar

    I loved reading this. What an amazing way to thank someone! I bet she’ll see your post. Have fun with your new toys!

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Thank you! There is so much depressing news at the moment, I think it is worth remembering that people are generally good and kind, on an individual level at least. I can’t believe how generous this girl was, because what I did for her didn’t exactly put me out in any way. I really hope that she has loads of success in whatever she does and never loses that kindness and generosity.

      Reply
  7. carlalissa

    Such a lovely story and I guess you deserved that treasure. That is how life pays a good deed when done from the heart. I am happy and proud for you.
    On a side note…. that “green paper” is called a “green-bar” and yes I remembered it very well running a million page reports! thank goodness those days are over! LOL

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Green bar – I never knew that. When I saw it I was instantly transported back to my childhood, using it for drawing while my dad played around with different computer parts.

      Reply
  8. Kim

    Wow! You’re very lucky, but I believe thats what happens when youre kind to other people.. Well not all the time off course, but sometimes karma works!

    Reply
  9. tabathatweedie

    Wow. Just, wow! It was kind of you to help her out and what an amazing way to show her appreciation! You lucky woman, you. I’m not jealous though. Not even slightly… *turns green with envy*

    Reply
  10. zora read

    what goes around comes around. You were very generous, warm and thoughtful and It is nice to know that there are people out there who reciprocate that, which this girl obviously did. You both have made lovely gestures and I cannot wait to see what you make out of this fabulous gift.

    Reply
  11. The Amazing Taracat Post author

    Thank you, I think most people are kind when given the chance. I am now desperate for some time to sit down and sew some of these. Anyone fancy looking after my children for a couple of weeks, or would that be pushing Karma too far? 🙂

    Reply
  12. sylkotwist

    Oh how lovely. I went to Rochester to do my first two years of Illustration, it was known as Kent Institute of Art and Design then. Rachel is right, I’m sure that’s where you’ll find Rosie!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

