The Wellington Pattern Pyramid – who wants it next?

IMG_2720I was super excited to be picked by the wonderful Fiona from Diary of a Chain Stitcher as the next recipient of the Wellington Pattern Pyramid. I owe her a big Thank You and an apology for not posting this sooner.  The parcel arrived just over a week ago and not only did it contain all the lovely patterns, but also a really sweet card from Fiona and some gorgeous bits and pieces that she had picked out for me. I don’t know how she could bear to part with them and I am definitely going to try and incorporate some into my next makes.

IMG_2722

I absolutely love those buttons, and the lace, all of it actually.

Anyway, the patterns – there really is something for everyone in this selection.

Some nice basics:IMG_2850

The five easy pieces are a dress, top, trousers, skirt and a jacket with a hood. All in the same pattern! Then there are some retro pieces with very ‘interesting’ styling:

IMG_2857Please somebody make up that eighties number with the ruffle.

And don’t these skirts remind you of the Miette?

IMG_2810Then there’s something for the man in your life.  I was tempted but  my husband has made me promise never ever to make him anything as he said he wouldn’t be able to pretend to like it. Suits me, I’d much rather sew for myself anyway. Sadly the haircut is not included. And what about the furry hat and scarf wearer in you life?IMG_2865The ones below are two of my favourites – the gorgeous dress that Fiona added, and this coat that I wish I had the time and skill to make:

IMG_2844So what did I choose?  The rules say that I can only pick one pattern and it was a tough decision. I love the dress below, despite the styling. It reminds me a bit of Simplicity 1801 which I have been lusting over ever since I saw Tilly’s amazing bird print version.

IMG_2797Then there was this skirt. It’s a really interesting design and I can picture a denim version using some of the trimmings that Fiona sent me.

IMG_2773In the end I couldn’t resist this one:

IMG_2889Three reasons. One – I need some new pyjamas and already have the perfect fabric in my stash. I reckon this pattern will do the job. Two – I have never made trousers, so this will be a slightly less scarey introduction with (hopefully) minimal fitting. And three -one hour pants! I love a challenge and I have very little time at the moment so I am going to put this claim to the test.

I have added a couple of patterns to the pyramid – a vintage shirt dress with really cool side panels that I wish I could figure out how to grade down to my size, and a really pretty dress, Butterick 5384. IMG_2758If you fancy being the next recipient of the Pattern Pyramid leave me a comment and I will do the random person selector thing next Friday. Good Luck!

18 thoughts on “The Wellington Pattern Pyramid – who wants it next?

  1. Emily

    Oh I so need that Simplicity 2774 pattern, pleeease! It will make the most perfect Stevie Nicks’ dress for my husband’s 40th party. I promise to add at least 1 vintage Vogue pattern and a v odd 80’s gem.

    Reply
  2. Béa

    Please put me on the list! So many pretty things… I’m still looking hopefully at that Vogue jacket pattern, and the V8560 skirt pattern is so sweet.

    Looking forward to reading all about your adventures in pyjamas.

    Reply
  3. Simona

    Oh You can definitely count me in! Love all the patterns in the selection 🙂 it will be a tough to pick only one….

    Reply
  4. Karen

    I live in the Philippines were you can’t buy commercial patterns. I have to make do with downloadable ones (and I am profoundly grateful to the internet for that!) as well as pattern magazines from Europe. would love to get my hands on one of the Vogue patterns as I have been looking for a collar like that! Not sure if you would ship to the Philippines, but if you would, please count me in!

    Reply
  5. Gjeometry

    OH, congrats on winning!! I see some of the patterns I added still in there! I wonder who will select them next? I love that pants suit you added, so cute. Please don’t add me to the Pyramid as I was the one who passed it on to Fiona.

    Reply
  6. Pingback: Pattern Pyramid Winner, and another one of those Autumn/ Fall sewing plans posts | The Amazing Adventures of Taracat

Leave a Reply

