Sewing related injuries and my Macaron UFO completed.

P1220232Last week I actually got some time to sew. I had to shift the cat off my sewing desk and untangle some cables before I could get started. The pedal cable had somehow managed to wind itself around the power cable, and the overlocker wires had also got tangled so I unplugged it all and crawled under the desk to sort it out.  I did think I was being careful but obviously not careful enough. In my efforts to separate the cables I must have I pulled something a little too hard and my forehead hit the floor as nine kilograms of overlocker dropped off the desk and slammed on to the back of my head.

I think I might have been out for a few seconds but I picked myself up, rubbed the egg sized lump that was growing on my head, swore a bit then inspected the damage to the machine. It looked okay, obviously my head took most of the impact, but wouldn’t switch on.  I was not going to be able to use it to make the knit dress I was planning and to be honest I wasn’t feeling much like sewing by now. However I have had so little time recently I was determined not to waste it so I turned to my UFO box.

I started this Colette Macaron last year, but it stalled when I realised that there was no way I was going to get the different fabrics along the left side to match up.  In my possibly concussed state I decided that didn’t really matter, I needed a dress for work and I would just have to remember not to raise my arms.

It didn’t need much work, just sewing up the side and hemming. The black cotton is left over from my other macaron, and the plaid is cream, black, and grey with fine threads of brown and silver. It was a remnant from my local fabric shop in Whitstable but I can’t remember how much it cost or how much I got, and I definitely can’t remember much about the construction.

P1220246As you can see I didn’t quite manage to match things up down this side.

P1220276Pockets….

IMG_2727Excuse the out of focus picture, I wanted to show you that I did actually manage to get the curve on the bodice piece, but in most of these photos it looks a bit pointy.

P1220240See.

The fit is not great. I’m not sure whether that is down to my shape changing since I started it or just because I was crap at fitting back then. I suspect it’s a bit of both. I can dance in it though:

P1220259P1220236P1220262I am not in love with this dress but it is okay for work, probably with a cardi over. What I did enjoy about this project was seeing how far I’ve come in the last year.  The stuff I was making was wearable, but I now know enough to be able to see where I cut corners and how it could be improved. It remains to be seen whether it will stop me cutting corners, but at least I can see a difference and know better what I can and can’t get away with.

After I finished this dress I was feeling a bit ropey so I decided I had the perfect excuse to go back to bed with a large coffee and series one of Dexter, which I missed the first time round and have been saving until I could watch uninterrupted. And there is good news about my overlocker. My husband had a look at it when he got in and it worked perfectly. As he pointed out, these things generally work better when you plug them in ….

25 thoughts on “Sewing related injuries and my Macaron UFO completed.

  1. Clare

    Oh my goodness….! Firstly, you POOR thing…looking at my overlocker right now I don’t even want to imagine that falling on my head. Secondly, um…trooper! I’d be a total wimp and climb into bed straight away but the fact that you tackled a UFO – awesome! I love the defiance too, so what if this doesn’t match up, you made it, it looks great and YEAH! You can dance in it baby! Plus, like you said it’s so cool to look back and see your progress. Hope the bump on your head has gone down!

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Cheers Clare! Not sure if it was defiance or concussion, but sometimes you have to say ‘so what…’ don’t you. Bump has gone now, although currently suffering from a weekend trip to Peppa Pig World that you don’t need to know the details of. Hell, no-one needs details of that trip. Think Fear and Loathing but no need for hallucinogenics. Let’s just say concussion would have been preferable. The things you do for your children….

      Reply
  2. whatkatiedoes (@whatkatiedoes)

    Ouch, poor you. I don’t fancy the idea of my overlocker crashing onto my head.

    I agree it’s interesting to look back on early projects and see how far you’ve come in terms of fit and construction. I’ve just dug out some of my early makes that I’m not wearing to figure out how to adapt them into something better.

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      I’d be interested to see how you adapt your earlier makes. I have a drawer load of stuff that I made but am not happy with. I love the fabrics so can’t bear to chuck them, (and I doubt the charity shop would accept such shoddily made stuff) so I’ll be looking out for refashioning ideas.

      Reply
  3. sewbusylizzy

    Ouchy!!! I’m not sure how you sewed anything resembling clothing!
    I’m always amazed how much I’ve improved in a year. I’m sewing a jacket at the moment which would have been a wadder by now, but I’m plugging away… I think it will be ok in the end… but a year ago I would have given up (note: definitely would have given up if the overlocker head butted me….)

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Cheers! To be fair it only looks like clothing because it was pretty much finished except for a couple of seams and hems. Looking forward to seeing the jacket, I’m sure it will be gorgeous.

      Reply
      1. sewbusylizzy

        The coat & I spent several hours glaring at each other on the weekend saying “I hate you.” “I hate you more”. It’s been a battle of wills. Who says fabric doesn’t have personality???

  4. Gjeometry

    Oh My Gosh!! Well, your macaroon dress is just beautiful, but so sorry to hear of your head trauma. Sounds very unpleasant! It’s exciting when you see how you’ve progressed, isn’t it? I still feel amateurish, but can’t believe how much I’ve learned and improved in the last several months, as well.

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      You are so not amateurish! I am totally in awe of the stuff you make! It is good to look back to see how far I’ve come, and I think it has given me the kick I needed to try and get back into regular sewing again.

      Reply
  5. sewlittletime

    ouch – your poor head! my overlocker is in need of some tlc from the sewing machine shop at the moment. the dress looks fine but it is nice to have a reminder of how far you have come!

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Cheers! I think I need to get all my machines serviced, I dread to think what they’ll say when they see my poor overlocker. It seems okay but the tension is a bit off and doesn’t want to go back to how it should so I should take it into the shop.

      Reply
  6. KimP

    So glad the bonk on the head has not impeded your ability to dance! Or notice improvements in your sewing . . . Lovely dress. Maybe I need a bonk on the head – I’ve suffering from a lack of sewing motivation and maybe a bonk would help!

    Reply
  7. sylkotwists

    Ouch poor you! The dress really suits you and no one else will notice the mismatched bits. I couldn’t get my overlocker to work the other day, it turns out I was pressing on the wrong pedal. Not even concussion for an excuse!

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Thanks! And that sounds like an easy mistake to make. I’m always doing things like that – my husband thinks it is premature dementia setting in. More likely lack of sleep and too much (or not enough?) gin 🙂

      Reply
  8. Shar

    Oooh – it hurt just reading that! I never would have tackled a UFO if my serger attacked me. Your Macaron looks great and no one will notice the mismatch. I’ve been sewing for just about a year now and it’s so nice that I don’t need to look things up with each new pattern. I can finally sew an invisible zip all by myself without following along with Colette’s video. I hope you’re feeling better and the bump is gone.

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Cheers! I think I might have actually talked myself out of tackling it if it hadn’t been for the injury. And anyone who can handle an invisible zipper with no hand holding is a sewing goddess in my book – I avoid them whenever possible, they give me the fear.

      Reply
  9. busylizzieinbrizzy

    OMG, I can’t believe you kept sewing after being injured, pretty sure I would have been going around looking for sympathy and feeling sorry for myself!! Well done on being a trooper. I wouldn’t worry about the side seams, most people just expect that in RTW, I saw a dress the other day that was hideously unmatched but that’s RTW for you nowadays, cheap and cheerful!

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Thanks! I guess concussion is great for productivity 🙂 If I hadn’t been alone in the house I’m sure I would have been looking for sympathy, but it was just me and the cat and I swear he was laughing…
      I know what you mean about RTW. If I want to feel really good about my sewing I go and look round Primark or TopShop and see what people are actually prepared to pay good money for. Makes me feel a hundred times better about my shortcuts.

      Reply
  10. Roisin Muldoon

    Oh Jo, my head hurts just reading this story. You are a trouper to have carried on, and the finished dress is very sweet on you. It’s nice to look back on older makes and see how far you’ve come but you look cute in this and you can dance in it – win win!

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Hi Roisin! I’d like to pretend that I’m bastard hard and laugh in the face of pain but it was almost definitely temporary minor brain damage that made me keep going. I was kind of on autopilot and as I have so little time for sewing at the moment there was no way I was letting a twatty self inflicted head injury stop me. All seems okay now though so no harm done. (Except for the fact that later that day I agreed to book tickets for Peppa Pig World, so was definitely concussed. Still recovering from that trip…)

      Reply
  11. prolificprojectstarter

    Not sure I’d like to choose between being landed on by an overlocker or having to go to Peppa Pig World, both sound horrific.

    I definitely think anyone not with it enough to realise that you need to plug an overlocker in to get it to work should not be allowed use one, so I reckon that’s a kind of safety feature.

    Bet no one at your work notices the mismatched plaid.

    Good luck with the writing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

