Grrr! Just in time – Jungle January Dandelion

P1220449Grrrrr! I made a dress! I do love a bit of leopard so Jungle January is easily one of my favourite Sewalongs.   I made this a couple of weeks ago but  life has been hectic so I only just managed to get it blogged in time. Last year I made Gertie’s pencil skirt in stretch leopard denim-y stuff and it has become one of my wardrobe staples. This year I decided to step it up a level and make a whole dress. I don’t have time at the moment to perfect the fit on a new pattern so I decided to revisit the Disparate Disciplines Dandelion.

Okay, confession time. My other two Dandelions hardly get worn. I know why. Facings. I am finally going to admit that I bloody hate them. They stick up, poke out, lie wrong… I just can’t get on with them. Actually both my dandelions could be made wearable very easily by just hand stitching the facings down, and I must do it because I love the shape and otherwise they are perfect.  I wasn’t going to make the same mistake with this one though.  Remember how one of my plans for this year was to finish things properly?  Well I did it!  This is the first fully lined dress I have made in aeons.  I just cut one dress in fashion fabric, this gorgeous stretch cotton from Minerva, which I can no longer find on their site, and another dress in lining fabric then attached it at the neckline and sleeves, then top stitched to keep it in place.

Look, you can just see the pretty innards! None of the actual innards photos came out, and the dress is now in the wash (yes, it gets worn a lot) so you’ll have to take my word for it about how tidy and professional it looks.

IMG_3525Unfortunately I then made a really stupid mistake. The lining fabric, from my stash, frays like a bastard.  I pinked the seams, which with hindsight wasn’t the best way to tackle this, but I obviously cut too close to the stitching.  And when I tried it on this happened:

photo 1I have managed to bodge it by stitching a bit of black satin bias tape over the seam, but I will take more care next time, I promise.  Right, some more pics, because I want you to appreciate how much I love this dress:

P1220442P1220457P1220446And because there is no point in wearing a dress if you can’t eat custard tarts in it:

P1220463

I have already worn it loads and I can see it becoming another wardrobe staple. Because animal print is a neutral, obviously, and therefore appropriate for any occasion.

Thank you Anne for another Jungle January. You can never have too much animal print.  In fact I am working on another leopard dress right now.

32 thoughts on “Grrr! Just in time – Jungle January Dandelion

  1. T

    Great make … leopard definitely is a neutral. Sure its close shave with the pinking shears has made it appreciate life as a dress a little bit more!

    Reply
  2. Roisin Muldoon

    I totally agree that a dress must withstand the eating of cake. I love this on you, Jo, and it looks amazing with your brothel-creepers! So mod! I agree that facings are a faff when they flap around. I have come around to them in the past year or so but I always catch-stitch them down because I found that understitching wasn’t always enough to make them lie flat. So get your needle out and make those other two lovely dandelions wearable! It’ll be the work of a few minutes, I promise x

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Hi Vicki! I really do love this fabric. But then I have never got a fabric from you that I didn’t love. In fact I’ve just cut out another dress from some grey and black leopard print knit that I got from Minerva, I’ll be sure to let you know when it’s done.

      Reply
  3. Ruth

    Love the fabric and the disparate dandelion is a really good style for you. I think cake eating should be compulsory the first time you wear a dress!

    Reply
  4. Sox

    What a fun dress! But you should totally deal with the facings on the black-and-white dress because then you’ll have two dresses that look fabulous on you!!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Almost the Ultimate Wrap Dress – attempt no. 1 | The Amazing Adventures of Taracat

Leave a Reply

