Is my Nautical Emery Dolly Clackett enough?

photo 4 (2)Bloody Hell, why didn’t I just listen to all of you and make up my Christine Haynes Emery pattern as soon as I got it?  I am now cursing myself for all the time I wasted when I could have been making Emerys.

It took the Sew Dolly Clackett! challenge to finally persuade me to make it.   I’ve been short of time and sanity recently but this was one challenge I was not going to miss. I mean, sod the prizes.  You are offering me the chance to gratuitously copy any of Roisin’s dresses without looking like a stalker – of course I’m bloody doing it!

This is my first attempt, a tribute to her many nautical dresses.  For example this, this and of course this one from the same print as I am using, but in red.  It  had to be an Emery.  Roisin has made loads and I can totally see why.  This was supposed to be a wearable muslin so I didn’t actually expect to get a good fit but it is pretty bloody close straight out of the packet!  For me this is the holy grail of dress patterns – something that I can just cut out and sew, no faffing about, safe in the knowledge that it the fit will be good, if not perfect.  Okay, not quite, I had to take it in about an inch at the top centre back before I put the zipper in. A minor tweak though.  Apart from that this dress felt effortless to make and fits better than any other dress I have made.

photo 3 (2)I was a bit concerned about the fabric, even for a wearable muslin. It came from the stash and I’m not sure where I bought it but it feels kind of crispy.  I was worried that it wouldn’t hang right but actually it has just the right amount of body. I even managed to set the sleeves in with no puckers first time round.photo 5 (2)Lapped zipper, it could do with a press, and absolutely no attempt at pattern matching because I couldn’t be arsed.

photo 1 (2)Silly face.

photo 1Whitstable Brewery Bar, we did the photos outside.  If you ever get a chance try their Oyster Stout, do. They do it on draft but you can also buy it in bottles. I am bloody addicted to the stuff, it’s like a pint of cold dark chocolate in alcoholic form.  Okay, that probably doesn’t make it sound that nice but it really is delicious. Highly recommended if you get a chance to try it

photo 4One tanned leg.

My photographer gets bored easily:

photo 3

Anyway, back to the sewing.  Emery is everything that I hoped that Simplicity 2444 and Colette’s Peony would be.  I love both those patterns on other people but there were just too many fitting problems for me. Emery, however, captures the style I was after and is pretty much hassle free.  Because there are no fitting issues I can knock one together in a few hours, it doesn’t take stupid amounts of fabric, it is modest enough for work and I have loads more planned.  I bloody love it.

(and no apologies for the excessive use of ‘bloody’ in this post. Needs must…)

53 thoughts on “Is my Nautical Emery Dolly Clackett enough?

  1. Handmade Jane

    Yes, your nautical Emery Dolly Clackett knock off IS enough! I bloody love it too! And I agree with everything you said about the Emery pattern – it’s perfect isn’t it? x

    Reply
  2. Cuckoo Chanel

    First off, Oyster Stout–sounds yum!! Wish I were there with a pint.
    Second and most important–You’re bloody lovely and your photos are bloody gorgeous as always.
    Third–I’m beyond angry with you for making me want to buy yet another pattern that I now cannot live without.
    Happy Sew Dolly Clacketting to you. I’m glad you finally made this and are so thrilled with it. It really suits you!
    Shelley

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Aww, thanks Shelley! And I promise you won’t regret getting this pattern. It’s a perfect basic and think how many ways you can tweak it. Have you seen the versions with the little collar? And the bow? Gorgeous.

      Reply
  3. Suzie

    Fab! It’s just perfect. And I completely agree with you on how amazing it is when a pattern fits pretty much perfectly straight out of the packet. I just made up the By Hand Anna dress and had a similar experience – heaven!
    Love your photos, and thanks for the tip about the Oyster Stout, I’m visiting friends in Whitstable this Easter and will def make sure I have a pint of the stuff!

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Ooh, I love Anna too! I’m away this Easter, otherwise I’d buy you a pint. If you don’t make it up to the Brewery Bar they also do it at the Oyster Fishery by the Horsebridge, to drink in or on the beach, and you can get it in bottles in the Offy.

      Reply
  4. Lynne

    You know what? When I looked at the first photo, I thought, “flip me, the fit is fab!”. I love the fabric, and it’s lovely on you. The Peony skirt would go well with this, as it’s basically the same bodice, and then your Peony pattern wouldn’t be wasted.

    Reply
  5. Cherie

    This is great! I never know what shoes to wear with these kinds of dresses. Yours look comfy yet dressy enough. I have heels that will work but they are not comfortable enough to walk around in. I’ll be on the lookout to add wedges… Thanks for the idea.

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Cheers! These shoes are so comfy, I think they came from Tesco’s, of all places. I wish I’d bought a couple more pairs in different colours ‘cos they don’t seem to do them any more.

      Reply
  6. Marie

    Very Dolly Clackett, love it Jo! And how encouraging to hear about the fit…it’s the dress I want to try for my #sewdollyclackett challenge ;o)

    Reply
  7. Jess B

    Okay, okay. I’m finally going to make an Emery! It really is a perfect pattern to let a pretty fabric shine. Yours is great and I love your shoes!

    Reply
  8. Pingback: Just in time for number 3? BHL Flora Dolly Clackett style | The Amazing Adventures of Taracat

  9. Pingback: Bad back, a new(ish) hobby and Me Made May ’14 week one. | The Amazing Adventures of Taracat

Leave a Reply

