Bad back, a new(ish) hobby and Me Made May ’14 week one.

Sewing is pretty impossible at the moment, I have done something painful to my back and all attempts to work at my machine have left me in agony so I have had to admit defeat until it sorts itself out. This is very annoying as I have a queue of projects including my nearly Dolly Clackett dress, another Emery and my Simplicity wrap dress.   However my sanity has been saved by the arrival of this gorgeous package:

photo 1

I am such a sucker for fancy packaging. We Are Knitters make knitting kits – you choose the pattern and the colours you want and they send you everything you need including needles and a cool label.  I found them when I clicked on an ad. on Facebook, which shows how strong these painkillers are because I absolutely hate ads on Facebook.  I know they are supposed to be targeted to your interests but you are not going to win me over by constantly flashing up ads for weight loss and wrinkle remedies, thank you very much. Show me gin, fabric and serial killer books and I might despise you a little less.

Anyway I found the website, quickly got sucked in and found myself ordering.  I needed cheering up and it made sense at the time- I can’t sew but I can knit.  Okay, I have knitted maybe four things in my life, hats, scarves and a very mis-shapen cardigan for my daughter. And the sensible people out there will ask why I didn’t just buy some cheap(er) yarn, needles and a free pattern from the internet.  However – knitting kit!  All in one bag! Cool packaging!

Now this is the point where I try to justify the cost, to myself as much as anything. I got the Vivian knit tee kit, which is forty eight euros. More than I should be spending, especially as I am a bit crap at knitting but it was ten euros less without needles.  And I can use the pattern again.  The yarn is the softest cotton and is really easy to use and the colours are amazing, I chose orange, natural and deep blue, which is a kind of deep teal-y turquoise:

photo 2This picture doesn’t do it justice, the colours are really vibrant.  The instructions are clear and there are video tutorials on the website if you don’t really know what you are doing, like me. It also comes together really quickly.  This is important. I usually prefer sewing over knitting because I am impatient. With sewing you can see a garment taking shape much more quickly than you do with knitting. I got the kit last week and I have half a top already:

photo 3Look, even a knitting novice like me can knock up half a top in a week! And you can knit anywhere. Okay, not quite anywhere but I can take it to work and knit in my lunch break, and in the park while I am ignoring my kids, and if I got the train I could do it on the train.  I may actually get to wear it for Me Made May.

On the subject of Me Made May I have been a bit crap at getting photos but I have managed to stick to my pledge. So far I have worn at least one handmade item a day every day except one , as follows:

Thursday 1st:  Day of the Dead print Simplicity 2444
Friday 2nd:  Black and leopard Deer and Doe plantain, still to be blogged, with shop bought jeans.Saturday 3rd: Floral Tilly Buttons Mathilde, with shop bought jeans.
Sunday 4th: Stripey Colette Laurel top (still unblogged although I made it last May) and shop bought jeans.
Monday 5th: All shop bought, but the jeans did come from the charity shop.
Tuesday 6th: Black eyelet Colette Laurel dress.
Wednesday 7th: Eiffel Tower print Simplicity 1610? Dolly Clackett dress.
Thursday 8th: Leopard pencil skirt, black top, shop bought but I have had it for over ten years. Must make another one actually.
Friday 9th: Leopard Laurel dress and shop bought leggings.

Thoughts so far (bear in mind I am on strong painkillers) – While I usually chuck on a me-made dress for work I do wear jeans a lot at the weekend.  And I have no interest in making jeans. I prefer making and wearing dresses but it all comes down to footwear.  Dresses can be practical but you do need the right shoes. Most of my ‘dress suitable’ shoes have heels. I live by the beach and spend a lot of time outside when the weather allows, and heels are not practical.  I do have a pair of espadrille type wedges that I can wear with dresses on the beach and I wish I had bought ten pairs but I can’t find any more at an acceptable (very cheap) price.  Maybe I need to learn how to make shoes?

13 thoughts on “Bad back, a new(ish) hobby and Me Made May ’14 week one.

  1. sylkotwist

    That kit looks the bees knees, although only having ever knitted a scarf for a 6 inch high cuddly bunny, I think it may be even beyond my skills. Yours looks ace, it’s very tempting to try. Looking forward to seeing photos of it paired with a maxi skirt on the beach, beer in hand, wide smiles and a better back! Get well soon!

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Cheers! If i can make something wearable with this kit then anyone can, it is seriously easy. And you realise that you have just convinced me that I really need the sewaholic Gabriola maxi skirt pattern now 🙂

      Reply
  2. Lady Stitcher

    Nice kit! There are some really fab ones out there that I have half an eye on but the price usually puts me off in the end (maybe I should re-check them next time I’m on painkillers…) Hope your back is better soon!!

    Reply
    1. The Amazing Taracat Post author

      Cheers! I am a bit gobsmacked that I spent the money but I don’t regret it, I am really pleased with how it is going and it will force me to keep going if I do lose motivation.

      Reply
  3. Ali

    Your knitting looks really neat, like you’ve been knitting up tops for years! It doesn’t matter what it cost either if it takes your mind off your bad back!
    Hope you’re soon feeling better 😀

    Reply
  4. ooobop

    Oh you poor love. I do feel for you. And I totally don’t blame you for such a spend. You can’t put a price on happiness! Looking forward to seeing you in your new Viv. And get well soon. We’ll miss the dancing poses for sure! x

    Reply
  5. Pootle and Make

    The colour combination of your yarn is gorgeous. Hope your back feels better. I use a heat pad, like a mini electric blanket which helps sooths aching muscles.

    Reply
  6. goodpurlgonebad

    Facebook customised ads were part of the reason I deactivated my account… quit smoking I-phone apps for someone who has never owned either I-phone or cigarettes? They obviously paid A Lot of attention to the contents of my posts… Anyway, I think your tee shirt looks excellent, and I love that it is QUICK (having just started a beautiful shawl that will take me forever).
    I absolutely agree with the shoe issue too. I love floaty frocks, but I walk miles on the school run every day and it’s hard finding footwear that’s up to the job and still looks nice, never mind going well with dresses.
    I hope you feel much much better very soon.

    Reply
  7. I made it!!

    Looks like a nice knitting project! I hate FB ads too! None of them interest me. I was just thinking the other day, if I could only sew shoes and nylons I would be all set… Except I would have to quit my day job, or run around without. No time, no time! Hope you get well soon!

    Reply
  8. JacqC

    Oh you poor thing, hope your back gets better very soon. I love anything that comes in kit form, I wouldn’t have been able to resist either, strong painkillers and sleepless nights always leave me susceptible to exciting online shopping opportunities! 🙂

    Reply
  9. BusyLizzie

    I wear ballet flats or sandals with my dresses, and if super casual thongs. Hope your back feels better soon and good luck with the knitting, I love it as a nice change from sewing, it’s nice and relaxing in front of the telly

    Reply

Leave a Reply

